Where Investment Thrives

Interactive Digital Media

Industry Profile

Interactive Digital Media

Alberta is home to many thriving companies that produce interactive digital media products like video games, simulators, and mobile applications.

Alberta's Strengths

Skilled Workforce

  • Maclean’s Magazine ranked the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary among the top ten universities for best computer science programs in Canada for 2018.
  • Alberta has a skilled workforce with an increasing completion rate for related educational programs.
    • Completion rates for computer and information sciences and support services programs increased by 30 per cent over the last 5 years.
    • Completion rates for mathematics and science programs increased by 52 per cent over the same time period.

Success Stories

Alberta currently has 55 firms in the video game design and development services industry including some of Canada’s largest studios.

Bioware

BioWare

BioWare, now owned by Electronic Arts, is a video game developer known for Baldur’s Gate, Neverwinter Nights, and Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic.

Beamdog

Beamdog

Beamdog is a video game developer, publisher, and distributor. Notable games include MDK2, Neverwinter Nights: Enhanced Edition, and Baldur’s Gate: Siege of Dragonspear.

VizworX

VizworX

VizworX is a full-service custom solutions developer that helps organizations engage with their data to improve their strategic planning, communications, and decision-making.

Serious Labs

Serious Labs

Serious Labs develops VR training solutions for the workforce including simulator equipment, tools, and training methods.

Scope AR

Scope AR

Scope AR uses augmented reality technology to help companies drive improvements in cost, efficiency, and quality. Some of its biggest customers include Lockheed Martin, Unilever, Caterpillar Inc., and Boeing.

Improbable

Improbable

Improbable is a British technology company that creates software for video games and corporate use. It recently announced its plans to open a base in Edmonton’s downtown core.

Business Support Programs - Government of Alberta

Alberta Investor Tax Credit (AITC) - https://www.alberta.ca/alberta-investor-tax-credit.aspx
AITC is a tax credit for encouraging investment in non-traditional sectors with strong job-creation potential.

Alberta Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) Tax Credit Program - http://economic.alberta.ca/taxcredit.asp
A tax credit for businesses conducting R&D leading to new, improved, or technologically advanced products or processes.

Alberta Innovates Funding Programs - https://albertainnovates.ca/funding/
Funding programs for Alberta businesses doing research and development in a variety of sectors.

Research Capacity Program - https://www.alberta.ca/research-capacity-program.aspx
The RCP funding program supports post-secondary institutions in acquiring small equipment and large research infrastructure.

Alberta Export Support Fund - https://www.alberta.ca/export-support-fund.aspx
The Export Support Fund reimburses up to 50% of costs on approved export activities for Alberta’s small and medium sized enterprises.

Cybera Rapid Access Cloud - https://www.cybera.ca/services/rapid-access-cloud/
Cybera officers free cloud computing resources to Alberta-based academics, researcher, non-profits and SMEs.

Business Support Programs - Government of Canada

Industrial Research Assistance Program - https://www.nrc-cnrc.gc.ca/eng/irap/
IRAP provides innovation and funding services to accelerate business growth through innovation and technology.

Strategic Innovation Fund - Federal - https://www.canada.ca/en/innovation-science-economic-development/programs/strategic-innovation-fund.html
This program allocates repayable and non-repayable contributions to firms of all sizes across all of Canada's industrial and technology sectors.

Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) Tax Credit - http://www.finance.alberta.ca/publications/tax_rebates/corporate/sred1.html
SR&ED is a federal tax incentive program designed to encourage Canadian businesses of all sizes and in all sectors to conduct research and development in Canada.

CanExport - http://www.international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/funding-financement/canexport/index.aspx?lang=eng
CanExport provides financial support to SMEs for development of new export opportunities.

Canadian Technology Accelerators - http://www.international.gc.ca/trade-commerce/cta-atc/index.aspx?lang=eng
This Government of Canada initiative helps Canadian companies with an existing technology, product or service explore opportunities in foreign markets.

Support Organizations

Interactive Digital Media Tax Credit - https://www.alberta.ca/interactive-digital-media-tax-credit.aspx
This tax credit supports Alberta businesses engaged in development interactive digital media products.

Alberta Innovates - https://albertainnovates.ca/
Alberta Innovates is a catalyst for innovation. Innovators, businesses and researchers can easily tap into our collective assets – cross sectoral knowledge and expertise, funding, networks and research facilities.

TEC Edmonton - https://www.tecedmonton.com/
TEC Edmonton helps to accelerate the growth of emerging technology-based companies in Edmonton.

Calgary Technologies Inc. - https://www.calgarytechnologies.com/
CTI helps accelerate the impact of innovation-driven ventures by providing access to space, programs, mentorship and capital.

Alberta Business Incubators - https://www.agric.gov.ab.ca/app68/biia?cat1=type&cat2=Mixed-use
A list of business incubators in Alberta for a variety of industries.

Accelerate Fund - https://www.acceleratefund.ca/
The Accelerate Fund supports early-stage Alberta technology companies with a venture capital fund that matches angel investment.

Edmonton Research Park - http://www.edmontonresearchpark.com/
ERP provides access for startups and growing companies to workspace, programs, and research communities. They also make land available to companies building research facilities in biotechnology, nanotechnology, clean energy and oil and gas support.

Startup Edmonton - http://www.startupedmonton.com/
Startup Edmonton supports local entrepreneurs through the provision of mentorship, programs, co-working space and community events.

Startup Calgary - https://www.startupcalgary.ca/
Startup Calgary provides a variety of events and programs for entrepreneurs in the startup phase.

Edmonton Economic Development - http://www.eedc.ca/
EED supports economic development in the city of Edmonton.

Calgary Economic Development - https://www.calgaryeconomicdevelopment.com/
CED supports economic development in the city of Calgary.

Online Directories

Connectica - https://www.connectica.ca/i3/
A directory of funding, programs, and services for Alberta innovators.

Business Link - http://businesslink.ca/service-provider-directory
A directory of service providers for Alberta businesses.

Innovate Canada - https://www.ic.gc.ca/app/scr/innovation/list-liste/a38d3341e44c4327
The Government of Canada’s directory of business support programs.

Start Alberta - https://startalberta.com/
Start Alberta provides a database of companies, investors, and organizations in Alberta.

Alberta Innovators Ecosystem - http://albertain.com/
AlbertaIn is a community owned online directory of innovation sector service providers.

Contacts

Investor Contact
Mei Huang, Senior Director, Invest Alberta
Email: mei.huang@gov.ab.ca 

Alberta Business Contact
Tim Olsen, Senior Director, Technology Partnerships and Investment
Email: tim.olsen@gov.ab.ca 
Phone:  780-644-4970