Where Investment Thrives

Business Support Programs

Access support programs for investing and doing business in Alberta, including tax credits, grants, and more.

 

Alberta Investor Tax Credit (AITC) - https://www.alberta.ca/alberta-investor-tax-credit.aspx
AITC is a tax credit for investor to encourage investment in non-traditional sectors.

Capital Investment Tax Credit (CITC) - https://www.alberta.ca/capital-investment-tax-credit.aspx
CITC is a tax credit to encourage manufacturing, processing and tourism infrastructure companies to make capital investment in Alberta.

Canada-Alberta Jobs Grant (CAJG) - http://www.albertacanada.com/opportunity/employers/jobgrant.aspx
CAJG is an employer-driven training program where employers and government share the cost of training new and existing employees.

Alberta Export Support Fund - https://www.alberta.ca/export-support-fund.aspx
The Export Support Fund reimburses up to 50% of costs on approved export activities for Alberta’s small and medium sized enterprises.

Export Readiness Micro-Voucher Program - http://fund.albertainnovates.ca/Fund/CommercializationServices/IndustryFundingFormsandGuidelines.aspx
This micro-voucher for Alberta’s small and medium sized enterprises offsets the costs of getting an export readiness market assessment for entry into a specific country.

Growing Forward 2 - http://www.growingforward.alberta.ca/AboutGrowingForward/index.htm?contentId=CDF_ABT_GF2&useSecondary=true
A $3 billion dollar government investment focused on innovation, competitiveness and market development in Canada’s agri-food and agriculture sectors.

Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) Tax Credit - http://www.finance.alberta.ca/publications/tax_rebates/corporate/sred1.html
SR&ED is a federal tax incentive program designed to encourage Canadian businesses of all sizes and in all sectors to conduct research and development in Canada.

Alberta Enterprise Corporation - http://www.alberta-enterprise.ca/
AEC invests in Alberta-focused venture capital funds that finance early stage technology start-ups in Alberta.

Alberta Innovates Micro-Voucher - http://fund.albertainnovates.ca/Fund/CommercializationServices/IndustryFundingFormsandGuidelines.aspx
The Micro-Voucher funds Alberta small and medium enterprises to retain a service or product provider to assist with early start up development. (up to $10,000)

Alberta Innovates Voucher - http://fund.albertainnovates.ca/Fund/CommercializationServices/IndustryFundingFormsandGuidelines.aspx
The Voucher funds Alberta small and medium enterprises to work in collaboration with up to three Service or Product Providers to advance the technology closer to commercialization. ($10,001 to $100,000)

Product Demonstration Programs (PDP) - http://fund.albertainnovates.ca/Fund/CommercializationServices/IndustryFundingFormsandGuidelines.aspx
PDP funds small and medium enterprises to work in collaboration with up to three project partners to showcase a prototype or completed technology. ($100,001 to $300,000)

Industry Commercialization Associates Program - http://fund.albertainnovates.ca/Fund/CommercializationServices/IndustryFundingFormsandGuidelines.aspx
The program is designed to fund up to 80% of a salary of commercialization associates.