Where Investment Thrives

Business Support Programs

Business Support Programs

Access support programs for investing and doing business in Alberta, including tax credits, grants, and more.

 

Alberta Investor Tax Credit (AITC) - https://www.alberta.ca/alberta-investor-tax-credit.aspx
AITC is a tax credit for encouraging investment in non-traditional sectors with strong job-creation potential.

Capital Investment Tax Credit (CITC) - https://www.alberta.ca/capital-investment-tax-credit.aspx
CITC is a tax credit to encourage manufacturing, processing and tourism infrastructure companies to make capital investment in Alberta.

Canada-Alberta Jobs Grant (CAJG) - https://www.alberta.ca/canada-alberta-job-grant.aspx
CAJG is an employer-driven training program where employers and government share the cost of training new and existing employees.

Interactive Digital Media Tax Credit - https://www.alberta.ca/interactive-digital-media-tax-credit.aspx
This tax credit supports Alberta businesses engaged in development interactive digital media products.

Alberta Export Support Fund - https://www.alberta.ca/export-support-fund.aspx
The Export Support Fund reimburses up to 50% of costs on approved export activities for Alberta’s small and medium sized enterprises.

Export Readiness Micro-Voucher Program - https://albertainnovates.ca/funding-entrepreneurial-investments/export-readiness-voucher/
This micro-voucher for Alberta’s small and medium sized enterprises offsets the costs of getting an export readiness market assessment for entry into a specific country.

Canadian Agricultural Partnership - https://cap.alberta.ca/CAP/
CAP is a five-year, $3 billion federal-provincial-territorial investment in the agriculture, agri-food and agri-based products sector set to begin in April 2018, and is the successor of the 2013-18 Growing Forward 2 partnership.

Scientific Research and Experimental Development (SR&ED) Tax Credit - https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/scientific-research-experimental-development-tax-incentive-program.html
SR&ED is a federal tax incentive program designed to encourage Canadian businesses of all sizes and in all sectors to conduct research and development in Canada.

Alberta Enterprise Corporation - http://www.alberta-enterprise.ca/
AEC invests in Alberta-focused venture capital funds that finance early stage technology start-ups in Alberta.

Alberta Innovates Micro-Voucher - https://albertainnovates.ca/funding-entrepreneurial-investments/alberta-innovation-voucher/
The Micro-Voucher funds Alberta small and medium enterprises to retain a service or product provider to assist with early start up development. (up to $10,000)

Alberta Innovates Voucher - https://albertainnovates.ca/funding-entrepreneurial-investments/alberta-innovation-voucher/
The Voucher funds Alberta small and medium enterprises to work in collaboration with up to three Service or Product Providers to advance the technology closer to commercialization. ($10,001 to $100,000)

Product Demonstration Programs (PDP) - https://albertainnovates.ca/funding-entrepreneurial-investments/product-demonstration-program/
PDP funds small and medium enterprises to work in collaboration with up to three project partners to showcase a prototype or completed technology. ($100,001 to $300,000)

Industry Commercialization Associates Program - https://albertainnovates.ca/funding-entrepreneurial-investments/industry-associates-program/
The program is designed to fund up to 80% of a salary of commercialization associates.